Wrestlers Win Individual Championships / Record 100 Wins

Senior Matthew Christie and Junior Ben Swarr were crowned League champions at the Lancaster/Lebanon Individual Wrestling Championship on January 26.  On February 16, juniors Zach Martin and Ben Swarr both won championships at the PIAA District 3 Sectional Tournament and Benn Swarr was named the Tournament Outstanding Wrestler.  Both Zach and Ben will advance to the PIAA District 3 tournament along with four other GS wrestlers, Nick Cook (12), Chance Norris (9), Tanner Leid (12), and Will Finkey(10).

Senior Nick Cook became the seventh wrestler in Garden Spot history to record 100 wins.  His 100th victory came in a bout at the Governor Mifflin Holiday Tournament on December 29.  As of now Nick’s record stands at 119 wins, just 4 wins shy of tying the overall Garden Spot record set by Jeff Witwer in 1989.  Senior Tanner Leid won his 100th match becoming the eighth Garden Spot wrestler to achieve that honor, at the District 3 Sectional Tournament on February 16.  It is quite an accomplishment to reach 100 varsity wins which is why so few wrestlers in the history of the Garden Spot program have ever achieved that.  In almost all cases, the wrestler has to be competing in varsity matches as a Freshman in order to be able to even have a chance at this accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *